

Kentucky High School Athletic Association 2280 Executive Drive ° Lexington, KY 40505 ° www.khsaa.org ° (859)299-5472 (859)293-5999 (fax)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: WEDNESDAY, MAY 31, 2006

DAWAHARES/KHSAA HALL OF FAME CLASS OF 2007 INDUCTEES ANNOUNCED

LEXINGTON - Twelve former high school coaches, athletes, officials and/or administrators make up the 20th class to be inducted into the Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame. The class will first be recognized at the annual Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame golf outing scheduled for Thursday, June 22, 2006, at the Marriott Griffin Gate Resort in Lexington.

The class of 2007 will be inducted in ceremonies scheduled for Saturday, April 14, 2007 at the Lexington Center. The induction of the 12 will bring the total number of individuals honored to 343.

The 2007 class is as follows:

Shaun Alexander – Alexander was a star running back for Boone County. He rushed for 6,670 yards and 110 touchdowns. Alexander helped the Rebels to two State Championship game appearances and was named Mr. Football in 1994. He went on to have a successful career at the University of Alabama and currently plays for the Seattle Seahawks of the National Football League. He was named League "MVP" in 2005.

Phil Coomes – Coomes has been a tireless contributor for the sport of wrestling, serving as a long time member of the State Wrestling Advisory committee. He has worked as president of the Kentucky Wrestling Coaches Association from 1989 to present and received Coach of the Year in 1989. Coomes has coached wrestling at Central, Waggener and Eastern High Schools in Louisville, compiling a 384-160 record. His 1993 Eastern team was state runner-up.

Tim Couch – Couch was an outstanding quarterback for Leslie County. He re-wrote not only state, but national records, setting seven state and four national records including the national mark for career yards passing with 12,167. Couch was named Kentucky's Mr. Football in 1995 and went on to play for the University of Kentucky, helping the Wildcats to their first New Year's Day Bowl Game in over 50 years. Coach then played in the National Football League for the Cleveland Browns after being selected first in the NFL draft.

Dermontti Dawson – Dawson was a multi-sport star for Bryan Station. He was a state champion in both the shot put and the discus throw and was an All-American honoree in Track. Despite not beginning to play football until his junior year, he received All-City and All-State honors at both offensive and defensive tackle. He went on to play for the University of Kentucky and helped the Wildcats to two bowl game appearances. Following his collegiate career, Dawson was a seven-time Pro Bowl center while playing for the Pittsburgh Steelers in the National Football League.

Paul Dennison – Dennison's career included stops at Western and Fairdale High Schools in Louisville, where he coached football, baseball, wrestling and basketball. He worked 22 years as a high school athletic director and served 16 years on the Board of Directors of the Kentucky High School Athletic Directors Association. Dennison received a National Award of Merit in 1992 from the National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators and was named National High School Athletic Director of the year in 1993.

Homer Goins – Goins played football for Evarts High School and later the University of Kentucky. He was football coach for the Paris Greyhounds from 1969 until 1978, amassing an 83-31 record. Twice his teams finished the regular season undefeated, including the 1973 team that finished as undefeated State Champions in Class A.



Kentucky High School Athletic Association

2280 Executive Drive ° Lexington, KY 40505 ° www.khsaa.org ° (859)299-5472 (859)293-5999 (fax)

Dan Haley – Haley coached football at Corbin, Bryan Station, Paducah Tilghman and Bowling Green High Schools. In a career that lasted 29 years, he compiled a 253-79-3 coaching record which ranks him as 13th among the state's coaching wins leaders list. He coached Bryan Station to the Class 2A State Championship in 1969. At Paducah Tilghman he coached the Blue Tornado to the 1973 2A State Championship as well as a runner-up finish in Class 4A in 1980. At Bowling Green, he coached the Purples to the 1995 Class 3A State Championship after a runner-up finish in 1994. In addition Haley received Coach of the Year awards in four different decades.

M.E. Ligon – Ligon served the youth of the Commonwealth as a teacher, principal and superintendent for over 40 years. Ligon is one of the founding fathers of the KHSAA, serving as president of the Association from 1916 until 1926. He also helped organize the Central Kentucky High School Athletic Association and served as Kentucky Education Association president in 1926.

Ralph Richardson – Richardson was an All-America basketball player at Russell County High School. On the hardwood, he averaged a double-double in points and rebounds his junior and senior years as he received All-District, All-Region and First Team All-State honors both in 1957 and 1958. He helped the Lakers to a State Tournament appearance in 1957 where he was selected to the All-Tournament team. Richardson received co-Mr. Basketball honors in 1958, sharing the award with Harry Todd of Earlington.

Irene Moore-Strong – Moore-Strong played basketball for Breathitt County and helped the Lady Bobcats to a State Tournament appearance in 1977 and a runner-up finish in 1978. In 1978, Strong was named First Team All-State and received MVP honors during the State Tournament. Her career was highlighted by being named Miss Basketball in 1978.

Donna Wolfe – Wolfe was an instrumental leader in the development of girls' athletics in Kentucky. She has worked every Girls' State Basketball Tournament since 1975 and has served in leadership roles throughout the history of the Kentucky Girls' Sports Association and the Northern Kentucky Athletic Conference. A long time successful coach in volleyball, basketball and softball, Wolfe was a tremendous participant in her own right participating in basketball, volleyball and softball. In 1979, Wolfe was inducted into the National Amateur Softball Association Slow Pitch Softball Hall of Fame, one of only nine females with that honor.

Orville "Bud" Williams – Williams is known as the "Father" of wrestling in Kentucky. He was the first Chair of the State Wrestling Committee and managed the state Wrestling Tournament for 23 years. It was the invitational he sponsored that was then developed as the KHSAA State Wrestling Championships. He continued as an advocate of the sport until his passing in 2005.

Two other individuals have previously been voted into the Hall of Fame but declined induction at that time. Kelly Coleman (1989) and John Reynolds (1994) have yet to accept the honor. They or their representatives would be added to the induction class in the year the honor is accepted.

-- KHSAA --

For more information, contact Butch Cope (859) 299-5472.